grams & gramps

Happy Friday 🙂

We are visiting my parents this weekend so we can go to the Red Sox game on Sunday, for Mathews birthday! These guys LOVE my parents, Grams & Gramps to them. My parents of course love them too. Every time my Dad sees Luke he says, ‘Hi Luke. Love you Luke. Hi Gramps.’ lol Mathew gives big hugs and kisses and then 4 or 5 more. Mathew is such a love bug. He helps Grams in the kitchen, he plays cards with Gramps and of course does the lottery with him. Luke gets waited on hand and foot 😉 They get to watch ‘real tv’ and my Mom fills their bellies with so much food.

It is actually pretty neat to see them completely function in a totally different environment. They each have their own rooms and their own toys here. They have their own routines too. It is a really beautiful thing. These guys feel completely safe and happy and loved here, because they are. I feel like the outsider 😉

It has actually been fun for my parents and I to figure out new roles with new humans to share. When I adopted Luke I was a very strict vegan and I tried to get my parents to follow our diet. To their credit, they did a little. But, then my Dad would take Luke to Coney Island for hot dogs and my Mom would just run through the drive through at mcdonalds…egh. It was a losing battle and one that I used to think I had to have and now, it isn’t the end of the world. These fun meals are special treats for my guys and that is alright with me.

I remember spending the weekends with my Grandma or I would go to her house when I was sick and couldn’t go to school and she would spoil me like no other. I loved it! I want my guys to experience the same thing with their grandparents and my parents do not disappoint. It is a mutual experience for all. My Mom didn’t get to experience babies from either my sister or I…I just showed up with a couple of 10 year olds. Luke might be almost 19 and Mathew 15, but they still love to snuggle. They smile and genuinely want to be close and connected to the people they love in their lives. How many 15 or 19 year old guys do you know that want to spend time with their family?? I know my Mom will hang onto this for as long as she can…and life is too short. These guys will eventually get older and probably more ornery. We won’t ever have this time again, keep spoiling them Mom & Dad ❤

My parents have been the most supportive parents I could have ever asked for. From day one, they embraced both of these guys as a Mikulski. They are such an important part of our lives, the most visible family we have. They have both supported my personal choices with my own life and the choices I make for the guys. I throw ideas by my Mom day in and day out. She is a trooper. My Dad asks about everything that is going on and always makes sure that we are doing well. I didn’t get to choose these parents and they didn’t choose me, but I am glad we got each other. I am so thankful that my guys got to have grandparents for as long as they have and will continue to have. It is a special bond that cannot be replicated.

Feeling so much love in Worcester(I am just as shocked as you are).

Leave a Reply

