i forget how lucky i am some days…

One of my most favorite friends came to visit yesterday! We used to work at the the same place where I was the Director, she was also the summer Director. We both left there a little worse for wear, but our connection was instant. We both moved away from the Pioneer Valley around the same time. Sadly, she and her husband headed towards Boston and we headed less than a mile from the NY boarder, nothing like complete opposite directions. It was so great to see her. We are the same age, but she has some health stuff going on in her life and I know she struggles, yet her outlook on life is amazing. We got to catch up and she got to see the guys 🙂 it is so refreshing to have people in my life that look forward to seeing my kids. She told me about Hygge. (because I don’t call things by there real names, I call it huggie. That is not the pronunciation.) Do you  know what that is?

http://hyggehouse.com/hygge

I found this link and I just loved the description.

“Hygge (pronounced hue-guh not hoo-gah) is a Danish word used when acknowledging a feeling or moment, whether alone or with friends, at home or out, ordinary or extraordinary as cosy, charming or special.

Hygge (or to be “hyggeligt”) doesn’t require learning “how to hygge”, adopting it as a lifestyle or buying anything. It simply requires being present and recognising aa moment that feels so sweet, cosy, charming, special or nice that you just have to name the moment.

So whether it’s making coffee a verb by creating a ritual of making it every morning to a cosy evening in with friends where you’re just enjoying each others company to the simple act of lighting a candle with every meal. Hygge is being aware of a good moment whether it’s simple or special.”

We all could use a little more of this in our lives. I learned something new from my very wise friend. Thank you.

My friend and I talked about our new lives in our new places, friends, relationships, work(old & new), health and the guys. She couldn’t believe that Luke will be 19 soon and that Mat is 15! She has been in our lives for 5 years…time flies so quickly. Throughout our visit my guys entertained themselves; Mat went for a bike ride, Luke sat on the hammock flipping through the new Bob’s Burgers book, then Mat threw in a movie, Luke went upstairs to play with his cars…there was no structure. This is a parenting fail or win depending how you look at it. It is documented that kids with disabilities thrive on routine and structure and I agree that it is so important. But, in the same breath, that is not real life. Shit happens that we do not plan for all the time. The guys know that we just go with it. Sometimes we make plans and they happen and other times they don’t. I will say that Mat asks me every single day what we are having for dinner; sometimes I know, sometimes I make something up. Regardless, we have dinner and he is fine with it.

Even today, we got a call for an emergency foster pup placement yesterday. So, when the guys woke up, we jumped in the car to meet the woman and came home with an additional dog(obviously not the original plan today). She is beautiful, let me know if you are interested in adopting her! We then got home and I had to mow the lawn, so the guys did their own thing. Mat jumped in the shower and cleaned up a little, Luke is wiped so he is fighting sleep on the couch. It has just been a low key day and I kind of love it. No devices, music in the background, nice breeze coming through the windows, sleepy pups all over the floor, we have a really full life. I am so lucky.

 

Leave a Reply

